This site and Vivacelle share an owner. We may earn a commission on other products we link to.
Gundry MD Elevate NAD+ vs Tru Niagen: Read the Label, Then Read the Receipt
At a glance
Of the two bottles you compared, Tru Niagen is the cheaper buy: a single-ingredient NR label naming its ingredient at 300 mg per serving, $1.63 a serving one-time against Elevate NAD+'s $3.00. But the fuel alone is half the story. In cell studies, quercetin inhibited CD38, and NAD+ inside cells rose, and the Mainstay Vivacelle NAD+ Supplement page lists both, NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg per serving, at $1.30 a serving on the 3-month supply with 180 days to change your mind. Start where you are: read the label, and take the two capsules a day that make up a Vivacelle serving. Keep the walk beside it, because the muscle study found the lowest NAD+ in the older adults who were physically impaired. And if you take other medications, let your pharmacist check the bottle in one conversation. The years drained the fuel; this is about pouring it back, with the day back in your own hands.
01The short answer: Tru Niagen, and here is the receipt
Of the two bottles you set side by side, Tru Niagen is the cheaper one: the label is a single-ingredient NR product naming its ingredient at a stated dose, and one-time it runs $1.63 a serving while Elevate NAD+ runs $3.00. If you would rather have both parts named on the label, the Mainstay Vivacelle NAD+ Supplement page lists NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg per serving, and its 3-month supply works out to $1.30 a serving.
Both bottles chase the same target: more NAD+ inside your cells, and studies find older brains and muscles tend to have less of it, even though blood levels hold steady with age. They part ways on the label in your hand and the price on the receipt: Tru Niagen is a single-ingredient NR product, naming NIAGEN (nicotinamide riboside chloride) at 300 mg per capsule, while Elevate NAD+ lists a NAD Support Blend at 300 mg per serving, and one-time Tru Niagen runs $1.63 a serving against Elevate NAD+'s $3.00. The arithmetic below comes straight from each product's own order page.
Price per serving
Price per serving, from each product's own order page.
| Product | Pack | Price | Servings | Price per serving |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elevate NAD+ | 1 Jar | $89.95 | 30 | $3.00 |
| Elevate NAD+ | 6 Jars | $458.70 | 180 | $2.55 |
| Tru Niagen 300mg | 1 month supply | $49.00 | Not stated on the product page | $1.63 (stated by the page) |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 2-Month Supply | $98.00 | 60 | $1.63 |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 3-Month Supply | $117.00 | 90 | $1.30 |
Takeaway: Elevate NAD+ costs the most at every pack size: $3.00 a serving for one jar, and still $2.55 when you buy six. Tru Niagen runs $1.63 a serving one-time, and $1.31 on subscription. Vivacelle's 3-month supply sits lowest at $1.30.
One thing to check before you click. Tru Niagen's lowest prices are subscription prices. Elevate NAD+'s prices are one-time purchases. Vivacelle is a one-time purchase with no subscription. If a bottle has ever kept arriving and kept charging you, that difference deserves a slow look.
02Read the label before you pay
Tru Niagen is a single-ingredient NR product: it lists NIAGEN (nicotinamide riboside chloride), at 300 mg per capsule. Elevate NAD+ lists a NAD Support Blend at 300 mg per serving and an Adaptogenic Longevity Blend at 150 mg per serving.
A blend is a basket, and you cannot see inside it. The Elevate NAD+ page lists a NAD Support Blend at 300 mg per serving and an Adaptogenic Longevity Blend at 150 mg per serving. Tru Niagen lists NIAGEN (nicotinamide riboside chloride) at 300 mg per serving, one vegetarian capsule to a serving.
Ingredients and doses
What each label says, serving by serving.
| Product | Ingredient | Amount | Serving size |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elevate NAD+ | NAD Support Blend | 300 mg | 1 Capsule |
| Elevate NAD+ | Adaptogenic Longevity Blend | 150 mg | 1 Capsule |
| Tru Niagen 300mg | NIAGEN® (nicotinamide riboside chloride) | 300 mg | 1 Vegetarian Capsule |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | NAD+ | 500 mg | two capsules |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | Quercetin | 250 mg | two capsules |
Takeaway: Tru Niagen is a single-ingredient product naming NIAGEN at 300 mg per capsule. Elevate NAD+ lists a NAD Support Blend at 300 mg and an Adaptogenic Longevity Blend at 150 mg per serving. The Vivacelle page states its amounts outright: NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg per two-capsule serving.
That third column matters once the bottle is in your hand. A label you can read is a label you can hold the company to. The Vivacelle page lists NAD+ at 500 mg per serving and quercetin at 250 mg per serving, two capsules to a serving. You know what you swallowed, and you know what each swallow cost.
03The fuel your repair genes burn
Your repair genes did not die; they ran out of fuel, and that fuel is NAD+. The enzymes called sirtuins cannot work without it.
Here is what the studies found, named plainly. In an imaging study of healthy people, older adults had less NAD+ in the brain than younger adults. In a cross-sectional study, older adults had less NAD+ in skeletal muscle than younger adults, and the lowest levels showed up in the older adults who were physically impaired. One wrinkle in the record: across seven human cohorts, whole-blood NAD+ held steady with age. The brain and muscle tell one story, the blood tells another, and that is why the studies worth reading looked at brain and muscle.
Now the fuel side, in human trials. Nicotinamide riboside is a form of vitamin B3 that the body converts into NAD+. At 300 mg a day, it raised blood NAD+ by roughly 40 to 50 percent over eight weeks, and across trials from 100 mg to 1,000 mg or more, blood NAD+ rose in step with the dose. That is human evidence on nicotinamide riboside, the ingredient Tru Niagen lists.
The fuel is one thing, and the key is another. The body burns NAD+ as it goes, and in cell studies, quercetin slowed that burn: it inhibited CD38, and NAD+ inside the cells rose. That is cell evidence, stated as cell evidence. In old mice, raising NAD+ restored mitochondrial function to that of a young mouse, and the authors called the age-related decline apparently reversible. Those are animal findings, and they point a direction.
Set that against the three labels. Tru Niagen brings the precursor, the raw material the body turns into NAD+, at 300 mg per serving. Elevate NAD+ lists a NAD Support Blend at 300 mg per serving. The Vivacelle page lists the fuel at 500 mg and the key, quercetin, at 250 mg per serving.
04What happens if you change your mind
Elevate NAD+ gives you 90 days to decide; Tru Niagen's page states no guarantee at all; Vivacelle gives you 180 days, counted from the day your order arrives.
Guarantee and shipping
Refund terms and shipping, in each brand's own words.
| Product | Guarantee | Shipping |
|---|---|---|
| Elevate NAD+ | 90 days | Free shipping on U.S. orders $49 or more |
| Tru Niagen 300mg | Not stated on the product page | Free U.S. shipping |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 180 days | Free shipping on every order. It ships within 1 to 2 business days; d… |
Takeaway: Vivacelle backs every order for 180 days from the day it's delivered. Elevate NAD+ gives 90 days. Tru Niagen's page doesn't state a guarantee.
The daily ask is small for all three. Elevate NAD+ is one capsule a day. Tru Niagen is one vegetarian capsule a day. Vivacelle is two capsules a day, per its page.
On shipping, Elevate NAD+ ships free on U.S. orders of $49 or more. Tru Niagen ships free on every U.S. order. Vivacelle ships free on every order, within 1 to 2 business days.
05Where the walk fits in
If you want the precursor with human trials behind it, Tru Niagen lists nicotinamide riboside at 300 mg per serving; if you want NAD+ and quercetin in one bottle, that's Vivacelle.
Keep the walk. Nothing here replaces it. The muscle study found the lowest NAD+ in the older adults who were physically impaired. The body that keeps moving holds its fuel better. The capsule sits beside the walk, not instead of it.
Some clinics sell NAD+ by IV, straight into the bloodstream, past digestion, while oral precursors depend on digestion and conversion. A capsule asks less of your day and less of your wallet than a clinic chair.
NR is not the only road. NMN is another precursor that raised blood NAD+ in human trials. NAD+ itself is not well absorbed when swallowed, which is why so many oral products use precursors. On tolerability, NR's record is good: in trials, adverse events were reported as no more common than placebo.
Frequently asked
Which is cheaper, Gundry MD Elevate NAD+ or Tru Niagen?
Tru Niagen, by a wide margin. One-time, it works out to $1.63 a serving against Elevate NAD+'s $3.00, and on subscription it drops to $1.31.
What are the refund terms?
Elevate NAD+ carries a 90-day money-back guarantee. Tru Niagen's product page doesn't state one. Vivacelle backs every order for 180 days, counted from the day it's delivered.
Is NAD+ IV better than pills?
IV delivers NAD+ straight into the bloodstream, past digestion, while oral precursors depend on digestion and conversion. The human trial record for NR was built with capsules, not clinic chairs.
Can you take NAD+ as a pill?
NAD+ itself is not well absorbed when swallowed, so oral products use precursors such as NR or NMN instead. Tru Niagen's ingredient is nicotinamide riboside, and it is a single-ingredient NR product.
What's the difference between NR and NMN?
Both are precursors the body turns into NAD+, and NR is a form of vitamin B3. NMN has also raised blood NAD+ in human trials.
How much should I take?
The trials studied NR at daily doses from 100 mg to 1,000 mg or more, with blood NAD+ rising in step with the dose. At 300 mg a day, blood NAD+ rose roughly 40 to 50 percent over eight weeks.
Is NR safe?
In human trials, adverse events with NR were reported as no more common than placebo.
How many capsules do I have to swallow?
One for Elevate NAD+ and one vegetarian capsule for Tru Niagen; the Vivacelle page lists two capsules per serving.
Does this replace my walk?
No. The muscle study found the lowest NAD+ in the older adults who were physically impaired. The capsule goes beside the walk, not in place of it.
How long before I can tell anything?
The human trials measured blood NAD+ over eight weeks at 300 mg a day. How it feels week to week is not in the study record, and anyone who promises you a day-by-day timeline is guessing.
I take other medications. What should I do?
Bring the bottle to your pharmacist and have them check it against everything you take, in one conversation. That is the step before anything new, and it takes ten minutes.